Helping God Out

urlDo you ever feel the need to help God along in His plan? Maybe we don’t say those exact words, but I think it’s something we all end up doing at one point or another. Sometimes it may be that we are called to pursue certain goals, work towards specific accomplishments, or follow a certain course of action. We believe that this is what God is calling us to do and so we do what we can on our end to work towards His will.

When we feel called by God to a certain direction in our lives, there is always something we can do to follow His call. But if we place the full responsibility and burden on ourselves, we become pulled down by the weight of it all and stressed out by trying to figure out and plan every little detail. We may become obsessed with how we feel we need to “help” God and lose sight of the fact that He already has is under control!

It has been almost two years that my husband and I have been trying for a baby and it has been a struggle emotionally, physically, and spiritually. Anyone who has dealt with infertility in any manner knows that there are tons of things you “should do”. Things to track, things to chart, things to eat or not eat, medicines to try, and so on. At the same time, the number one thing everyone tells you is “Don’t stress so much!” or “Just try not to think about it.” That can be frustrating to say the least. Especially when the act of daily charting, tracking, doctor’s appointments, medicines, and so on, makes it near impossible to take your mind off of it for even a little while.

Yesterday my husband and I celebrated our 3 year anniversary. I am so blessed to have such a wonderful man as my husband. As I thought about our marriage and our life together, I began to reevaluate my “plan.” I believe without a doubt that I am called to be a mother and I know in my heart that it will happen in God’s perfect timing. But before being called to motherhood, I was called to be a wife. On days when I feel frustrated at not fulfilling my call of motherhood, I need to remember that I am so blessed to be carrying out my vocation as a wife.

The second thing I thought of was how complicated it has all become. If I truly believe in my heart that God has called me to be a mother, why do I stress so about doing everything “just right” in order to make it happen? Do I feel the need to help God out? Do I doubt that He can do it on His own and requires me to meticulously plan each detail for Him? As much as my mind screams “No!” in answer to these questions, I know that my actions seem to state otherwise.

I have become so wrapped up in what I have to do to make this happen, that I have seemingly forgotten it is not up to me. All the charting, all the doctor’s visits, all the medicine in the world does not make a baby. God alone is the Creator of life. Despite what I may or may not do to “help out”, the truth of the matter is that I cannot control it. When it is God’s perfect timing, we will have our baby. But until then? I am resolved to stress less about what I need to do and to put it in His hands and trust more confidently in Him.

Of course there are things we can all do to follow God’s will for our lives. There are things I can do to help my body out as we prepare to have a family.  But in following His will, we need to be attentive to how He is calling us. Is He telling us to take a specific action? Or is He telling us that He has it under control and we need to trust? We need to remember that even though there are things we may be called to do and actions we must take as we follow the Lord, at the end of the day He is the one in control. He can do all things, and He doesn’t need our help to make them happen.

“Delight yourself in the Lord;
And He will give you the desires of your heart.
Commit your way to the Lord,
Trust also in Him, and He will do it.
He will bring forth your righteousness as the light
And your judgment as the noonday.

Rest in the Lord and wait patiently for Him;

-Psalm 37:4-7

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Helping God Out

  1. SR July 17, 2014 at 12:49 pm Reply

    Hey Rose,

    Thanks for sharing this post. Never give up. My daughter had seven miscarriages. The thought of having a child was consuming her every thought. She was becoming so depressed over the matter, and even I as a mother could not help her, as I had children and could not place myself in her shoes in terms of knowing how she felt. Then one day there they were, twins! A little boy and a little girl. Family complete! We call them our miracle babies, who started kindergarten last year! There is always hope in God and a miracle around the next corner. God Bless and will be praying. SR

    • rosesnearrunningwaters July 17, 2014 at 1:41 pm Reply

      Thanks SR. That is so wonderful to hear about your daughter! Miracle babies indeed! I am certain it will happen in God’s time it’s just the waiting that is hard! I’m always hesitant to post on more personal matters so I very much appreciate the encouragement and prayers! Blessings to you as well

  2. notjustanybible July 17, 2014 at 6:24 pm Reply

    Thanks for sharing your post, God has a plan and a purpose for everything and everything happens in God’s perfect timing.

  3. 9jaime July 17, 2014 at 7:41 pm Reply

    I certainly find myself telling God how to make “His” plan run more smoothly, that’s for sure! I will keep praying for you. Sometimes I wish God would send a huge billboard with flashing lights and obvious instructions for me. Wouldn’t that be nice? Patient waiting, accepting that where you are is where He wants you to be. That’s a hard one, but that’s what life’s all about. God bless.

    • rosesnearrunningwaters July 17, 2014 at 8:46 pm Reply

      I could definitely go for a giant flashing billboard right about now! Haha. Thanks so much for reading & commenting and for your prayers! Many blessings to you as well!

  4. Our Lady of What? August 3, 2014 at 8:26 pm Reply

    Beautiful post! I’m single but struggle with remembering that God is in control of my life. Great reminder

    • rosesnearrunningwaters August 4, 2014 at 8:45 pm Reply

      Thanks! I think we all face that at one point or another in our lives! God Bless!

Leave a comment