Constantly in Prayer

Today I was fortunate to be able to attend a women’s reflection and talk by Dr. Patricia Cooney Hathaway based on her book : Weaving Faith and Experience (read about her and her book here: http://hathaway.book.calledtoholiness.org/ )

The talk she gave covered many topics but centered on finding spirituality in our daily activities.  It’s a topic I’ve been thinking a lot about lately.  It’s easy to get into the trap of feeling like there isn’t enough time for focusing on prayer, or that you have to give something up in order to become more spiritual.  And, as was discussed at church this morning, that is certainly not the case.  She spoke of finding ways to make our daily activities our prayer.  Prayer is really an expression of love and our communion with the Lord.  So prayer can be anything from talking to God, praying the rosary, or simply showing love to those we come in contact with.

I’ve recently been reading a book called “The Seven Veils of Our Lady of Guadalupe” by Father Miguel Guadalupe.  It’s an intense read but very interesting.  One of the topics he discusses is being in constant prayer with the Lord.  While a wonderful thought, when we get caught up in the daily activities of work, school, and family life, it can be difficult to think of praying constantly.  But when we think of prayer as not only talking with God, but also as shown in our love for others, it’s easier to see it as a constant thing.  God is always with us.  In every aspect of our lives, He is there.  To be in constant prayer means to be in constant gratitude, recognition, and praise of the Lord.  Even the simplest of prayers throughout the day can center us and bring us back to God. 

 In Father Guadalupe’s book he talks about our relationship with the angels, specifically with our Guardian Angel.  We know that angels have been the messengers of the Lord.  The news of Jesus Christ was first brought to Mary by the angel Gabriel.  Our Guardian Angels can be our aid in constant prayer.  One thing I have tried to do (and this was something in Father Guadalupe’s book as well) is to say a prayer every morning asking my Guardian Angel to pray with me constantly throughout the day.  Then even when I’m engaged in other activities at work or at home, my soul can be praying with my Guardian Angel.  It’s  a pretty awesome thought!

We know God is always with us, and we should be in constant prayer with him.  Through our thoughts, our words, and our actions.  By involving God in everything we do, we can find ourselves more spiritually connected with Him and we will be able to share His love with those we come in contact with as well.

“For me prayer is a surge of the heart, it is a simple look towards Heaven, it is a cry of recognition and of love, embracing both trial and joy.” – Saint Therese of Lisieux

Tagged: , , , , ,

One thought on “Constantly in Prayer

  1. SR February 14, 2012 at 8:49 pm Reply

    In Mass about a month ago Father said, “Have you ever thought about offering to God who you are?” He said, “If you are a mother, father, daughter, boss, employee, etc… you need to offer that to God and all these things entail.” My parents are sick and I have to take care of them from time to time and I get tired a lot keeping two places going. When I do I look up at God and say, “I am a daughter God, and I am tired, but I thank You for allowing me to give back to them some of what they gave me.” When I do, somehow it all seems worth it.

    I also pray a lot. I get up between 4-5 in the morning as I find if I do not make that special time to pray it will not get done. I do it early because all is quiet, no cars going up and down the road, and it is so peaceful. But throughout the day during my “duties” I often say, “God I bless You and I thank You for You have helped and strengthened me,” I have found those prayers are just as important as those I wake up for in the morning. Good post. God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

