True Love

Tomorrow is Valentine’s Day and countless couples will celebrate in a variety of ways; flowers, a special date, expensive jewelry, chocolates, the list goes on and on.  As for me?  Well I will certainly be celebrating Valentines Day.  Not by purchasing an outrageous gift or by going to an expensive restaurant.  Instead, I will be spending a wonderful night in, making my husband’s favorite dinner, and enjoying our time together. 

Little is known about St. Valentine.  In fact, there are records of multiple St. Valentines, all of them martyrs.  It is said that St. Valentine married Christian couples in secret.  Perhaps that is how his feast day became the commercialized holiday we celebrate tomorrow.  Despite the fact that little is known about him, we do know that he was a martyr, which means he deeply loved the Lord and was willing to give his life for his faith.  To me, that represents true love.

I have a lot to celebrate.  This is our first Valentines Day as a married couple.  But I don’t care to celebrate in a huge spectacle.  I have found my true love.  Someone who I would give my life for and someone who I have promised to love through good times and bad.  Someone who vowed to love me back in front of God and all our closest family and friends.  I was blessed to find someone who shares my faith.  Someone who will pray with me and grow in faith with me to love the Lord.  As great as our love is for each other, without the Lord’s love we would be nothing at all.  It is His love at the center of our lives that holds our love together.  It is His love for us, that makes our love for each other possible.  And that, is true love indeed!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “True Love

  1. SR February 13, 2012 at 10:36 pm Reply

    I love your post. The two of you have a great dinner and evening together. God Bless, SR

  2. […] about an idealistic love that is always perfect and easy.  Rather it is talking about actual true love. The true love that we read about in 1 Corinthians 13.  A love that is patient and kind instead of […]

Leave a Reply

