Listening for God

Happy Palm Sunday!  Before I head off to Mass today, I wanted to share with you a recent experience I had.  Many of us talk to God frequently.  We pray to Him asking for guidance, praising Him, and just talk to Him throughout the day.  It is sometimes difficult to hear an answer.  God can speak to us in may ways.  Through nature, through a friend, and through the Scriptures among other things.  I love when you are having a tough time with something or have been praying for something for a while, and suddenly you open your Bible or listen to the sermon at Mass and it seems like it is directed specifically to you!  I believe that in those moments, God is talking to us!  All we have to do is listen, and we can hear God in many different ways. 

Just a day or so ago I was opening my Bible and happened to flip to a passage that perfectly fit with what I was praying for on that day.  I was worrying and stressing about things in the future.  I had been praying for guidance but a part of me was still feeling that worry.  I have been reading through Matthew and flipped open to where I last left off.  But a separate passage caught my eye instead. 

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat [or drink], or about your body, what you will wear.  Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing?  Look at the birds in the sky; they do not sow or reap, they gather nothing into barns, yet your heavenly Father feeds them.  Are not you more important than they?  Can any of you by worrying add a single moment to your life-span?  Why are you anxious about clothes?  Learn from the way the wild flowers grow.  They do not work or spin.  But I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was clothed like the one of them.  If God so clothes the grass of the field, which grows toady and is thrown into the oven tomorrow, will He not much more provide for you, O you of little faith?  So do not worry and say ‘What are we to eat?’ or ‘What are we to drink?’ or ‘What are we to wear?  All these things the pagans seek.  Your heavenly Father knows that you need them all.  But seek first the kingdom [of God] and all His righteousness , and all these things will be given you besides.  Do not worry about tomorrow; tomorrow will take care of itself. Sufficient for a day is its own evil.”     Matthew 6:25-34

I read this passage and then paused and prayed for guidance and handed over tomorrow to God.  And suddenly I did not feel stressed at all.  I felt calm.  At peace.   I continued reading and just a bit more into the Gospel was this verse:

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.”     Matthew 7:7

A short while back I posted about learning to beg.  Learning how to humble ourselves to the Lord and to truly ask for His guidance and will in our lives.  On this day, I felt the Lord answering my prayers, listening to me begging Him for guidance.  The Lord hears us when we pray, and He always answers our prayers.  Sometimes it might not be through a miraculous healing or a lightning bolt from the sky, but He does answer.  We just need to listen.  A beggar on the street cannot merely beg and run away, but needs to wait for a response.  We cannot knock at the door and then move on in our lives before the door even has a chance to be opened for us.   We need to wait patiently for the door to open.  I have been praying and begging the Lord for direction, but had not taken the time to listen for His response.  And because I didn’t hear a response, I began to worry.

When I opened up my Bible and read these words from God, I knew He was telling me that He hears me.  He knows what it is that I need.  He knows what it is that I am asking.  And He will take care of everything far better than I  ever could alone.   I only need to ask, to trust, and to listen for God, and then to respond with His guidance according to His will. 

Tagged: , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Listening for God

  1. Rich Kenney April 1, 2012 at 10:28 am Reply

    Learning to listen. That’s so important. Enjoyed your post.

  2. loveinvestigator April 1, 2012 at 1:13 pm Reply

    amazing article thanks for sharing.

    http://loveinvestigator.wordpress.com/

  3. rosesnearrunningwaters April 9, 2012 at 10:45 am Reply

    Thanks for stopping by to read it!

Leave a Reply

