Prayers from a Planner

In my family my mom and I always joke that we are such planners!  We like to have everything planned out.  From what we will make for dinner tomorrow, to what time we will go to the park today, to what we will do over the weekend.  Growing up we would sometimes have “family meetings” where we would all sit around the table to plan our weekend out.  We have, upon occasions, made plans to plan!  As in, what time should we all sit down to plan our plans for this weekend?  A plan to plan!  Sometimes this is a good thing.  We are very organized, always prepared for guests, and love to plan functions.  Our obsession with planning definitely came in handy when planning for my wedding last year, for graduation parties, surprise birthday parties, and so on.  But sometimes, we just cannot plan for everything!  Sometimes we need to let go and trust God and just have patience.  And this can be a struggle for me.

In the past few months, my husband and I have been praying and praying for guidance as we waited for news on a career move for my husband.  We were thrilled and so thankful to find out in the past week that the job we were hoping for was offered to my husband.  In the midst of our excitement we found out that we would need to be moved and ready for him to start in about a month.

Woah!  The planner in me started to panic.  When will we look for apartments?  What if we can’t find something in our price range?  What if they don’t allow dogs?  What if I can’t find a job?  How much time do we need to pack?  Should I start now?  How many trips will moving take?  How much will it cost?  And on and on and on.  My brain, it seemed, could not be stopped!  While certainly you do need to plan at least a little bit when preparing for a move out of town, the fact is there are some things I simply cannot plan.  I can research apartments but until we go look this weekend, I cannot do anything more. I can look for jobs and apply, but I cannot possibly plan beyond the job search phase since I don’t know what is coming next.  And as my husband reminded me yesterday as I began to panic, it has been less than a week since I started looking for work and I still have plenty of time.  The truth of the matter is, even if it takes me another month or two or even three to land a job, we will be ok.  So why do I keep stressing over it?  Because inside my head, I want to plan!

So this week I am sending up prayers from my plan obsessed self.  Prayers for peace, for guidance, for patience.  I know that God has a plan for us.  He has blessed us with so much already, why would I worry about what is next?  This morning I came across the perfect verse for myself this week.  2 Thessalonians 3:16 reads

“May the Lord of peace Himself give you peace at all times and in every way.  The Lord be with all of you.”

Peace at all times and in every way.  As I let go of my desire to plan the future and place my trust in God alone, I pray for this peace.  For deep and lasting peace to be with me and my family constantly and in every way.  I cannot worry about the future.  God already has a plan for me.  I need to trust, to pray, and to praise God for the blessings He has already given me.  Sometimes it is good to plan.  But I need to place my trust in God and His ultimate plan.  Then, with His peace, guidance, and grace, I can work towards carrying out His plan for me instead of worrying about creating my own. 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Prayers from a Planner

  1. Grande Falcone June 14, 2012 at 11:33 am Reply

    I am enjoying your blog! Congratulations on the big news and the exciting next chapter in your life with your husband! Three quotes came to mind as I read this post:
    – The Serenity Prayer (“God, grant me the Serenity to accept the things I can not change, the Courage to change the things I can, and the Wisdom to know the difference.”)
    – The joke: How do you make God laugh? Tell him what you’re doing next year.
    – A quote from Dwight Eisenhower: “Plans mean nothing; planning means everything.”
    The point is to be in control by trusting that God is in control. Every time God pours out some new blessing into my life, my marriage, my children, new job, etc., I’m always amazed at how piddling the gifts we give to others (for birthdays, etc.) are by comparison. Every change is an opportunity and every opportunity a blessing. I wish you peace with yours!

    • rosesnearrunningwaters June 14, 2012 at 4:02 pm Reply

      Thank you very much for reading and for sharing the quotes! It’s true, when we look at the amazing blessings we have it really puts things into perspective.

  2. SR June 14, 2012 at 2:24 pm Reply

    I am a planner also and I understand the “panic” well. What creatures of “habit” we are. Get us out of our norm and the “squirrels start dropping the nuts!” Yes, we need to trust God and I always ask myself, “Why is that so hard?” Enjoyed reading and God Bless, SR

  3. rosesnearrunningwaters June 14, 2012 at 4:03 pm Reply

    It’s good to hear it’s not only me! Thanks, as always, for reading!

  4. […] have always been a planner.    During confession once I expressed my frustration to the priest that no matter how hard I try, […]

Leave a Reply

