Not Just Waiting

Tomorrow my husband and I will celebrate our one year anniversary as a married couple!  I can’t believe it’s already been a full year!  Some people would tell us as we were preparing for the wedding or shortly after, “You know the first year is going to be tough.”  And truthfully?  Our first year has been great!  Of course any couple living together day in and day out will have arguments here and there.  But overall our first year as a married couple was great!  And I am so blessed and happy!  Even so, there are still those who hear we are celebrating our 1st anniversary and express a different sentiment.  It’s what I call the “Just wait…” sentiment.

You know it.  When something great is happening to you and someone has the “well just wait until…” comment.  Like when I was planning my wedding.  I was a calm bride.  I made up my mind early on not to get stressed out over silly little things and I held firm to that.  As the wedding grew closer people would ask “Are you losing your mind yet?” or  “Are you going crazy with all the planning?”  or even “I bet you can’t wait until it’s over.”  When I would respond that things were going great, I wasn’t stressed or losing my mind, and that I actually was enjoying planning the wedding, preparing for marriage, and being engaged, often I would get this response.  “Well, just wait until…”  followed by whatever crisis they thought I should be awaiting.  “Wait until you do your  seating chart.”  “Wait until you have to do favors.”  “Wait until the last week before the wedding.”  It was as if I couldn’t possibly be enjoying myself.  And if I was, it was only a matter of time until it ended.

And now that we’ve been married, I still hear it.  Just in a different form.  People will ask how my husband and I are doing.  When I tell them we’re doing great, I might get a response like “Well, just wait until you have kids, that will change!”  or “Just wait until you’ve been married a few years.”  or various other responses along those lines.  Now, I am not naive or living in a fantasy world where everything will always be perfect.  I know that, like any couple, we will have some times that are harder than others.  I know that once we have children things will change.  But why do I need to be waiting for it?  Instead of waiting for something to go wrong, I am simply enjoying what is going right.

We are blessed to be healthy, we have amazing family and friends who support us, we will soon be moving to start a new chapter with my husband’s new job, we are both content to spend time together playing board games, going to the park, watching movies.  We share our Catholic faith and are constantly inspiring each other to strive for an even deeper faith.  And we are more in love than ever.  So why would I spend this wonderful time we have together as a couple by waiting for something to change that?  I would much rather enjoy the time we spend together and be happy and thankful that I found someone I could share my life with. 

Romans 12:12 talks about rejoicing

“Rejoice in hope, endure in affliction, persevere in prayer.”

Right now in our lives, we are rejoicing in hope.  We are blessed to not have numerous afflictions in our lives.  We pray together for God’s strength and guidance for ourselves and for others.  And we rejoice because we have hope!  Hope in Christ and hope for what is to come in our lives!  We are not “Just waiting” for something to go wrong.  We are living happily  and thanking God for what we have been given.  We are rejoicing in the wonders that God has already given us and in the hope for all the wonderful experiences we have yet to face!  Sure, we are still young in our marriage.  And sure there are things we simply haven’t experienced yet.  But instead of “just waiting,” we are joyfully living out our lives and looking forward to what lies ahead with hope for the future.  Because after all, no matter what lies ahead for us, there is no one I would rather have by my side than my wonderful husband.  And with God’s help, I know we will continue to be rejoicing together for the rest of our lives, no matter what.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Not Just Waiting

  1. SR July 15, 2012 at 10:20 pm Reply

    A very Happy Anniversary to you both! May you have many more. God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

