A New Page

There are so many people we meet in our lives.  Friends, co-workers, neighbors, classmates, and so on.  It has been said that our lives are like a long chapter book.  Some people are simply in our lives for a few pages.  Some may make up entire chapters.  Some are the core characters that are with you for the whole story.  And some people are the very binding that hold the book together.  As I’m preparing to move and start a new chapter in life, I’ve been thinking more about this. 

I truly believe that God sends people into our lives for a reason.  Some of those people may be in your life to help you through a particularly difficult time.  Some may be there so you can help them through a tough time.  Some are there to make you laugh.  Some are there for when you cry.  And some are there for everything.

I never close the book on a friendship.  But sometimes, there are simply too many pages in between where we left off.  So much has happened in those in between chapters, that you just realize those people may have been in your life for only a chapter or so.  In the recent chapters of my life, so much has changed.  I have moved, started a new job, met new people, gotten married, and am preparing to move again.  But more than that has changed.  A part of me has changed. 

When I met my husband, I changed.  I know that God meant for us to be together because from the day I met my husband, my faith has grown stronger every day.  And what is more, my desire to have a stronger faith, to be more connected with God, to be more Christ-like, has grown.   Since I met my husband, I simply feel more connected to God.  I don’t have all the same interests I used to.  Instead of hanging out all night with friends, I would rather enjoy a walk in the park appreciating the nature God gave us and spending a relaxing evening with my husband.  It’s a change I’m happy with! 

Anybody that comes into your life and immediately makes you want to be a better person and be closer to God is certainly more than a chapter in life.  They become the very binding of the book.  And those pages and chapters from before?  Well some of them are still very much a part of the story.  They embrace me even as I change into what I hope is a better person.  They embrace my husband as well, and have gotten to know us together.  But there are some people from my past whose pages are now out of touch with the very binding that holds the story together.  They may not know my husband, my interests, the things that make me, me. 

So, as I prepare to turn the page into a new chapter, I am thankful for the friends I have met along the way.  I am hopeful that many of my new friends will continue on in my story.  I am happy to say that I have no regrets on any past friendships and that I truly wish the best for all those who have been in my life, whether for one page, or for a few chapters.  But the pages keep turning and like keeps moving forward.  More than anything, I am so blessed to have the people that I do in my life for my next chapter.  I have been blessed with a wonderful family that I remain very close to.  I have some amazing friends who through all of the changes have remained close and have always been there for me.  And I have my truly incredible husband.  The man who stole my heart and who I married just over a year ago.  The man who from the very beginning has inspired me to grow spiritually.  The man who holds it all together for me, who puts things into perspective for me, who loves me unconditionally, who motivates me, and who makes me a better person.  With my family, friends, my wonderful husband, and Our Heavenly Father who I know is always with me, I can’t think of a better place to be or better people to be surrounded by as the next page turns.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “A New Page

  1. catholic123 July 17, 2012 at 10:55 pm Reply

    Great post! I love this analogy, because it really puts things into perspective. Sometimes we can’t dwell on those blank pages or empty chapters either and we need to appreciate even the few pages in our lives. Everything happens for a reason whether we will discover that in this life or in the next!

Leave a Reply

