Snowflakes from Heaven

As the year draws to an end, I find myself (like so many others) thinking back upon 2012.  Moving, searching for new jobs, starting new jobs, adjusting.  There was a lot of uncertainty in the past year and will continue to be in the upcoming year simply because as humans we do not know what God has in store for us.  With a new year beginning, my husband and I have already begun to plan.  To plan our financial budget for the new year, to plan vacations and time off work, to plan for visits with family and friends, and so on.  This has been and still is a weak point for myself.  Sometimes I get so caught up in my plan that I forget to look and listen for His plan for my life.  It is something I work on and pray about daily and with God’s grace I know I am getting better at listening and waiting.  But it still can be a struggle!

There are many passages I have turned to when I feel that “planning panic” creep up and know that it is time to calm down and listen to Him.  I think about Jesus telling us not to worry about today and to look at the flowers who don’t worry at all but are so beautiful.  I think about Him telling us that if He cares and provides for a tiny sparrow…how much more will He care for us?

Recently a new image has come to mind and it is quite fitting for this time of year.  Snow.  There is at least a foot of snow outside my home at the moment and it seems to just keep coming down!  I cannot tell you how many times my husband has been out shoveling in the past week alone!  And that is just in my little town.  Snow covers so many places during the winter in a beautiful blanket of white.  But what is truly amazing to me is to consider each tiny snowflake.  There are so many millions of snowflakes falling from the sky and each one is so incredibly intricate and unique.  It is believed that no two snowflakes are alike due to the complex freesing process that creates these tiny crystals.  In the winter I love to wear dark colored gloves or mittens so that when I catch a snowflake in my hands, for a brief second before it melts away, I can glimpse this tiny but spectacular snow crystal!  And while we know that the freezing process causes these crystals, I also know that it would never be possible without God’s hand.   What a glorious work of creation in each perfect snowflake!

Our loving God who creates the flowers with such beauty, who knows the hairs on our heads, who sees every sparrow that falls, He also forms each and every snowflake that falls to the ground.  Snow blankets the ground and leaves everything feeling a little more peaceful and calm.  And I know that our loving God who creates each snowflake with such spectacular and unique shapes and designs surely has a plan for me and that I need not worry.  I will simply look out the window at the beautiful white snow and be reminded of my Creator’s awesome power and know that everything is in His hands.

Happy New Year to you all and God Bless!

All images are of real snowflakes photographed with a special photomicroscope.  Here is the link to the full gallery if you would like to see more

http://www.its.caltech.edu/~atomic/snowcrystals/photos/photos.htm

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Snowflakes from Heaven

  1. 8kidsandabusiness December 31, 2012 at 5:42 pm Reply

    Happy New Year to you, too!

    • rosesnearrunningwaters January 3, 2013 at 10:46 am Reply

      Thank you! I hope you and your family had a wonderful Christmas and New Years!

  2. peacefulpartings December 31, 2012 at 7:50 pm Reply

    Much light and wonder to you in the new year!

Leave a Reply

