Only One Thing

Jesus entered a village where a woman whose name was Martha welcomed him. She had a sister named Mary
who sat beside the Lord at his feet listening to him speak. Martha, burdened with much serving, came to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me by myself to do the serving? Tell her to help me.” The Lord said to her in reply,“Martha, Martha, you are anxious and worried about many things. There is need of only one thing. Mary has chosen the better part and it will not be taken from her.” – Luke 10:38-42

This was the Gospel heard in Mass yesterday.  It is a familiar story but one that seems to always resonate with me.  Martha is busy serving, while Mary, at first glance, is doing nothing.  But the reality is, Mary was performing as service even greater.  You see, Mary was so busy serving, she forgot to take time to just be with the Lord. 

Yesterday as I contemplated finances, loans, someday purchasing a house, and as I thought of all those things next to my prayers to have a child, I started to worry.  I began trying to figure it all out myself.  My mind was running a mile a minute.  Calculating monthly costs, factoring in savings, trying to figure out if I would be able to stay home with a baby if we are blessed to have one, what expenses can we cut and by how much, and on and on and on.  By the time I was ready for bed, my brain hurt, and I felt exhausted.  I was so confused.  What should I do?  What should I do to prepare better for a baby, to save more money, to pay off more loans?  I was “anxious and worried about many things.”

And then I remembered the Gospel.  “There is need of only one thing.”  Jesus is all that I need.  I need to take a deep breath and focus on God.  I need to push aside my worries, trust fully in God’s plan, and just be with the Lord.  All these things I am worrying about are in God’s hands.  He can see everything and knows what is best for me.  After thinking on that for awhile, I felt more relaxed.  My worries drifted away and I was left calmly praying to just be with the Lord and for my trust in Him to grow.

+Lord Jesus,  Help me to be like Martha and serve those around me, but to also be like Mary and remember to put you first and take time to just be with You.  When life gets crazy, help me to remember that there is only one thing I need, and that is You.  Amen.+

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Only One Thing

  1. reinkat July 22, 2013 at 11:16 pm Reply

    This was beautifully put.

  2. Dominoe Toomey July 23, 2013 at 5:33 pm Reply

    With our recent addition and myself quitting my job the phrase: The Lord shall provide, has never proved more true. My prayers are with you, you will make it work, God Bless!

Leave a Reply

