Lessons from Mother Mary

Today on this feast of the Assumption of Mary into heaven, body and soul, I find myself admiring her faith and praying that I might be so strong.  What tremendous faith she had!  We don’t know much about Mary prior to the angel Gabriel coming to visit her.  I find myself wondering…what was she like?

I picture myself a few years back, planning on getting married.  I think about how I planned and planned for the next step in life.  Did Mary plan the same way?  I wonder what her plans were for her future with Joseph before Gabriel came to visit.  I wonder if she dreamt of a family, if she worried about the future, if she was nervous about what would happen next.  Despite any plans, any worries, and concerns, when Gabriel came to her and told her the good news, her reply was simple, firm, and filled with faith, “’You see before you the Lord’s servant, let it happen to me as you have said.”

I pray that my faith might be so strong, to accept God’s will without any reservations!  But even more than that, I pray that I might know God’s will for me.  To hear His voice, to listen to the Holy Spirit within me, and to be able to follow the will of the Lord…that is my prayer.  Mary lived a life so holy, so faith filled, so virtuous, that she was chosen to be the Mother of God.  I pray that my heart is open to God and His will for my life.  I pray that my faith is strong enough that the worry and need to plan go away because I know I am in His hands.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Lessons from Mother Mary

  1. happyalmosthomemaker August 23, 2013 at 11:45 pm Reply

    Sometimes when I read your posts I think you and I are just so of one mind. Our prayers are so similar. I feel like I oscillate between desperately needing to know Our Lord’s will for my life so that I can act on it and praying just as desperately that I can let go of even my aching desire to have to know His will for me when I want to know it, to learn to let go and discover His will a little each day. (Which is a pretty confusing prayer as well as sentence!) 😉 May Our Lady guide us both!

  2. […] Blessed Mother does not take away from the glory of God.   But through her loving and faithful example, she has shown us how to love her Son, […]

Leave a Reply

