Remembering the Past and Praying for the Future

Like most Americans I can tell you exactly where I was and what I was doing 12 years ago when the planes hit.  I was only 13 and was in school.  I was in 8th grade, in History class and we were watching a movie on Ellis Island.  I remember the teacher from across the hall coming into our classroom and pulling our teacher aside.  Shortly after, our teacher turned off the movie and instead turned on the news.  That was the first time I saw the now infamous image of the World Trade Center billowing black smoke.  At that time it was early and it was still unclear what had happened.  Was it a mistake?  Was this an accident?  The bell rang and class dismissed and the day progressed.  Teachers tried to maintain a sense of normalcy without ignoring the events that were occurring. I remember walking home and my mom and grandma had the news on.  Images flooded the screens as the country tried to make sense of what happened.

Today, 12 years later, it seemed only right to reflect upon this day and to remember those thousands who lost their lives.  My heart goes out to those mourning the loss of a loved one today.  My admiration remains strong for the firefighters, police officers, and those who have served our country in the time that has passed.   I was not in New York.  I did not witness the events first hand.  I do not know anyone who was there or who lost their life.  But it still left an impact.

Even as we remember 9/11, we are still faced with war and destruction in our world.  We always will be, so long as sin exists.  And so, as important as it is to remember the past and to pray for those dealing with heart wrenching memories today, we also pray for our future.  We continue to pray for peace in our world.  We know that only God can bring us peace and so today as I look back and remember that day 12 years ago, I pray that I may be a light for Christ to shine His peace in my own small corner of the world.  I pray that our loving and gracious Father in heaven sends His angels to comfort all those in sadness or fear.  And I pray that His peace will continue to grow in the hearts of all men until the whole world knows the peace of Christ.

He makes wars cease to the end of the earth;
he breaks the bow, and shatters the spear;
he burns the shields with fire.
“Be still, and know that I am God!
I am exalted among the nations,
I am exalted in the earth.” (Psalm 46:9-10)

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Remembering the Past and Praying for the Future

  1. wordprocessor September 11, 2013 at 9:01 pm Reply

    Amen

Leave a Reply

