Giving Thanks to God

“O give thanks to the Lord, for he is good;
for his steadfast love endures forever”    ~Psalm 107:1

With Thanksgiving only days away, everyone seems to be more grateful than usual.  People focus more on counting their blessings and take time out of their schedule this week to remember the good things they have. 

This year I am reminded that our blessings are not only in the things we have, but also in what we “lack.”  God gives all good things to us and answers all our prayers in His perfect timing. 

Last year at this time I had just starting praying for a family.  I was convinced that by this time, we would  be blessed with a baby or at the very least be pregnant!  But God has other plans.  I may not understand them, but I am called to trust in His perfect timing and be thankful that I have a God who loves me so much.

When we want to have a child so much, it can be easy to look at the situation and feel we are lacking something.  It is hard to see how this could possibly be a blessing.  But God’s ways are not our own and He has a plan far greater than we could imagine.  Our God is good and His love is everlasting.  How can we doubt Him?

“Do not worry about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” ~Philippians 4:6-7

When we ask our Heavenly Father for something, we are called to ask with open hearts, with sincere thanksgiving for all that we have been given and for the ultimate love He has for us.  When we pray, we should always be thankful and praise His name, for the love and peace of God surrounds us and comforts us even in the things we cannot seem to understand.

This Thanksgiving, I am thankful for my wonderful husband, my loving parents, my amazing sisters, and my whole family.  I am thankful for our little dog, for our home, our food, our jobs, our freedom.  And I am thankful most of all for our God and His astounding love and mercy.  For His wisdom and His plan for us – even when we can’t see it.

I may not know when we will have a child. And I will certainly continue to pray that God blesses us with a little one soon!  But this Thanksgiving, I am choosing to see our situation as a blessing.  While we may not have a child yet, we have been blessed with wonderful time together as husband and wife and our relationship with each other and with God has strengthened. 

There is a reason we do not have a child yet.  Maybe someday we will know that reason.  Maybe not.  But I do know that whatever happens, God’s love and peace will always be with us.  And that is a blessing that cannot be measured and that I will forever be thankful for.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Giving Thanks to God

  1. Leah Ness November 25, 2013 at 11:46 am Reply

    What a beautiful testimony! I read once that “We have to thank God for the seemingly good as well as the seemingly bad because, really, we don’t know the difference.” But being grateful in every circumstance takes tremendous faith. Your story is a blessing and an encouragement, thank you so much for sharing it! I’ll be praying for you and your husband’s future family plans =)

    • rosesnearrunningwaters November 25, 2013 at 12:17 pm Reply

      Thank you! It’s easier said (or written!) than done but I know God is faithful!

  2. What Makes Me Thankful | freedomcryblog November 25, 2013 at 1:26 pm Reply

    […] Giving Thanks to God (rosesnearrunningwaters.wordpress.com) […]

  3. reinkat November 26, 2013 at 1:28 am Reply

    Your post is an inspiration to me.

    • rosesnearrunningwaters November 26, 2013 at 10:41 am Reply

      Thank you! Sometimes the easiest concepts, like giving thanks, seem to be the most difficult to carry out. God Bless!

  4. […] Giving Thanks to God (rosesnearrunningwaters.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] matter how tough it gets, I strive to remember all that I have been blessed with.  I have been blessed with the most wonderful husband who stands by my side, who makes me laugh, […]

Leave a Reply

