Spring Will Come

Yesterday when I got home from work I checked the weather forecast for today: 52 and sunny!  Oh how wonderful that sounded!  I laid out my clothes to wear for work today with spring weather in mind.  This morning I awoke and hurried to get ready.  I grabbed my spring jacket and ran out the door only to discover frost on my windshield and tiny snowflakes beginning to fall.  By the time I got to work it was snowing in earnest and within a few hours we had easily accumulated an inch of snow to cover the ground once again in a blanket of white.  We all looked out the windows shaking our heads.  Where was the 50 degree sunshine we were expecting?  And as usual, we blamed the weatherman who gave us such an erroneous forecast to begin with.  But it wasn’t his fault.  

We become so fixed on our human plans, interpretations, and explanations.  We see the logic in the scientific radar and the weather forecast and so we take it as fact.  We plan accordingly based on what human reasoning tells us is appropriate.  And when our plans are foiled, we are left frustrated.  We look at the calendar telling us it is the first day of spring and we “decide” that the weather should follow along.  With the wealth of information available thanks to the internet, we feel that we have the knowledge to plan out every part of our lives. 

But the truth is we cannot tell the future.  We can plan and prepare all we like but sometimes when you least expect it, despite all contradictory information, it snows.  And somehow, though it happens time and time again, we are always surprised when our plans do not work out the way we had hoped.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
    nor are your ways my ways, says the Lord.
For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
    so are my ways higher than your ways
    and my thoughts than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55:8-9

It is fine to plan.  It is good to prepare.  It is even better to pray.  Although we do not know what the future holds, we know that God is there.  His thoughts, His plans, His ways are far greater than our own.  Praying for His will does not mean we will suddenly have all the answers. Nor does it mean that we will always know exactly what to do next.   But by keeping God at the center of our decisions and prayerfully opening our lives up to what He has in store for us, we know we are in the best possible hands.

“For surely I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord, plans for your welfare and not for harm, to give you a future with hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

God’s plans for us are the best possible plans there could be!  Because regardless of what we may face, we know that His plan is filled with the hope of eternity in Heaven with Him.  His wonderful plans for us lead to salvation!  

We may not know what the weather will be like tomorrow, but we know that spring will come eventually.  And you know what?  Maybe those weathermen weren’t too far off in their forecast.  The sun is again shining and has melted the snow from this morning.  Perhaps spring is here after all.  We just need to be patient and wait with hope in the plans of the Lord that the sun will shine, the flowers will bloom, and spring will come again.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Spring Will Come

  1. SR March 22, 2014 at 9:36 pm Reply

    This was an excellent post! One I so needed, as I had to put my “pup” of ten years down Wednesday. So feeling very lonely and not truly understanding why God took her from me so soon and so quickly, as there was no warning at all. When I read “God’s plans are the best possible plans there could be,” I know somewhere in all of this sorrow and many tears, there is plan. Thanks so much for doing it, as it truly has given me hope, the sadness is going to go away. God Bless, SR

    • rosesnearrunningwaters March 23, 2014 at 8:59 am Reply

      Oh SR I am so glad this post lifted you up and I am so sorry to hear about your pup. Sending prayers your way my friend.

  2. The Sparrow March 23, 2014 at 6:44 am Reply

    I love this post. However, I would have been jumping up and down THANKING God for the surprise snow! I love snow and never get enough of it here in rainy Oregon. I always look at it as a special treat from God just to me.

    • rosesnearrunningwaters March 23, 2014 at 9:02 am Reply

      Oh I can imagine! I do love the snow in December and January and even February…it’s just been such a cold long winter I am so ready for spring! And even now as I look outside I can see little snow flurries again. It is peaceful to look at even though I am ready to see the flowers blooming again!

  3. The Sparrow March 23, 2014 at 6:45 am Reply

    And to SR, I am so sorry about your dog. I’ve lost very beloved pets, too. It hurts so much! You are in my prayers. Hugs

  4. Elizabeth March 25, 2014 at 12:58 pm Reply

    I thought of you this weekend when we had our first touch of spring — 70 degrees and sunny. Sigh. Today it’s raining and the forecast is bleak.

  5. inthepottershands988 May 1, 2014 at 10:53 am Reply

    Amen! Wonderful post and great reminder to trust in God’s plans for us!

    • rosesnearrunningwaters May 1, 2014 at 3:27 pm Reply

      Even though I wrote this it is funny how easily we can forget our own advice 🙂 So glad you commented on this to pull my attention back to it and again remind myself of God’s wonderful plan! God Bless!

Leave a Reply

