Was Judas Doomed to Betray Jesus?

I wrote this post 2 years ago after a thought provoking discussion with my sister. As I listened to the reading of e Passion at Mass today, I thought back to this post and to Judas. As I went back to read this again, I realized how much of it still hit me and so I decided to re-blog this for some of my newer readers and as a repeat meditation of sorts for those who may have read it before. God Bless!

roses near running waters

In recently discussing the scripture surrounding Holy Week with my sister, we got on the topic of Judas.  Why did he do what he did?  And did he have a choice?

Judas was one of the 12 apostles of Christ.  He was one of the people closest to our Lord.  So why did he betray Jesus?  When we look at the time leading up to the crucifixion, we see a lot of turmoil.  Riots had become commonplace events.  Those in power were struggling to prove to Rome that they had control of the events taking place. Jesus had already attracted negative attention by those who disagreed with His beliefs or who felt threatened by the power He held.  In Luke 22:1-6 we read:

“Now the feast of the Unleavened Bread, called the Passover, was drawing near, and the chief priests and the scribes were seeking a way to put Him to death…

View original post 1,625 more words

2 thoughts on “Was Judas Doomed to Betray Jesus?

  1. reinkat April 14, 2014 at 12:36 pm Reply

    I’m glad you reblogged it. I hadn’t had a chance to read it the first time, and enjoyed it. Very thought-provoking.

Leave a Reply

