Lay it All Down

4941bd027e19d087c78af653a152eacd“Cast your burden on the Lord, and he will sustain you” (Psalm 55:22)

A few weeks ago I found myself feeling discouraged.  I was confused, hurt, filled with worry and doubt.  I just couldn’t understand why it was that my prayers had not yet been answered. I found myself in tears and in a vicious circle of thought.  I would pray for help, then worry about what I should do next.  Then pray for an answer to my prayers, followed by a prayer for God’s will, followed by more worry.

Then a different thought popped in my mind.  Lay it all down.  I took a deep breath and prayed but my prayer was different this time.  I told the Lord I could no longer worry about this.  The burden of worrying, wondering, questioning, was too much.  So rather than continue on in this pattern, I told Him I wanted to lay it all down at the foot of the cross. To leave it all fully in His hands.

With this new prayer, the tears stopped instantly.  I felt peace.  I felt calm.  I felt truly at rest.

“Come to me, all you that are weary and are carrying heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.” (Mt. 11:28)

As the days went on, I felt the same doubts creep back in.  I quickly prayed again to lay this down, to give it to the Lord.  And while I did feel peace, the same feelings kept resurfacing.  I felt frustrated.  I already laid it down!  Why is this still bothering me so?  I didn’t want to worry.  But somehow I kept feeling it creep in.

 “Cast all your anxiety on him, because he cares for you. Discipline yourselves, keep alert. Like a roaring lion your adversary the devil prowls around, looking for someone to devour. Resist him, steadfast in your faith, for you know that your brothers and sisters in all the world are undergoing the same kinds of suffering. And after you have suffered for a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, support, strengthen, and establish you. To him be the power forever and ever. Amen.” (1 Peter 5:7-11)

Jesus has promised us peace.  But that does not mean we are exempt from hardships.  Because of the deep love our Lord has for us, we can cast all our worries His way and He will give us peace and rest.  Even so, in this word we are constantly faced with temptation.  Faced with trials, suffering, worries and fear.  That may never change.  What we can change is the way we react.

We are called to remain steadfast in faith.  To remain strong against the negative thoughts and worries the devil tries to throw our way.  To remember that we are not alone in the trials that we face.  As the weight of the world bears down upon us, we may find ourselves needing to offer our fears, doubts, and sufferings up to Him over and over again.  But no matter how many times we cry out, no matter how heavy the burden we wish to unload, God is always there to fill us with love, hope, joy, and peace.  We just have to lay it all down.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Lay it All Down

  1. lyonsroarforgod June 12, 2014 at 5:22 pm Reply

    Great post. Thank you! 🙂

  2. setyourpathsstraight June 12, 2014 at 11:45 pm Reply

    Great post and a good reminder. We cannot reach up to Him with full arms and bent shoulders. When we lay it down…every burden can we then reach up and see the hand He offers us. amen and amen.

  3. The Way to Nourish for Life! June 13, 2014 at 12:07 am Reply

    Oh my–I had a similar experience recently (May 1st; I remember it well!), when I had to lay it all down (give it all over), praying with all of who I am–and, surely, He did not leave me empty-handed… Much needed grace delivered in the days to come!
    Love to you. [PS: What an outstanding 1Peter quotation! Perfect.]

    • rosesnearrunningwaters June 13, 2014 at 9:25 am Reply

      Thank you for sharing and for the comment. I’m glad you enjoyed the 1Peter quote too. I love when you find the *perfect* verse…just goes to show how much God speaks to us if we just listen. God Bless!

  4. Joan June 13, 2014 at 8:42 am Reply

    Thank you for this post! 🙂

  5. inthepottershands988 June 13, 2014 at 9:52 am Reply

    Amen, girl! Something I’ve been struggling with this week is discouragement and doubt. You are right on that we need to keep giving them to the Lord no matter how many times it comes back. We must hang on to the faithfulness of the Lord despite those feelings and in time we will see how He answers those things we’ve been praying about. Great post!!

    • rosesnearrunningwaters June 13, 2014 at 10:18 am Reply

      Thank you! I think we all struggle with discouragement and doubt from time to time. Thankfully God is there even in the midst of our struggles and He hears and answers our prayers! God Bless!

  6. rcconvert June 16, 2014 at 12:32 pm Reply

    I’m a worrier myself, and I need to remind myself (over and over) that it does no good but taking my worries to God does. Thanks for this post!

    • rosesnearrunningwaters June 16, 2014 at 4:29 pm Reply

      It seems there are certain lessons we need to relearn almost daily and this is one of those for me! I hope and pray I am getting better with it! Thanks for reading and for the comment. God Bless!

Leave a Reply

