Love Stories

The world is full of love stories. Fairytale love stories. Tragic love stories. Funny love stories. We read books about love stories. We watch movies featuring love stories. Most of our television shows include some sort of love story. From the snippets we read online about a particularly romantic engagement, to the photos of an extravagant wedding, to the touching stories of a man and wife by each other’s side through the most trying of situations until the very end.

hOn August 2 my little sister took a big step in her love story. Family and friends from all over came together to be a part of her and her new husband’s wedding day. It was a beautiful Mass full of reverence and love followed by a joyous celebration at the reception. She is an absolutely beautiful girl but looked even more beautiful than usual as she was filled with the joy of marrying the love of her life. All the planning and preparing paid off as the day was absolutely perfect and a wonderful time was had by all.

In the days following the wedding I have found myself reminiscing about my own wedding three years ago and thinking about weddings, marriage, and love.  A joyous marriage with Christ at the center of it presents one of the best love stories we can live out in our lives.  After all, the love that a husband and wife share carries with it respect, forgiveness, patience, and a lifelong commitment.  What could be better than that?

“The greatest love story of all time is contained in a tiny white host.”  Archbishop Fulton Sheen

sacrament-of-holy-eucharistAll the love stories in the word, all the perfect wedding days and long lasting marriages and romantic engagements, cannot compare to the greatest love story of all: the love of God the Father shown to us through His Son, Jesus Christ.  We may not have been there at Calvary with the Lord.  But we are blessed to have the most precious gift of the Eucharist to receive our Lord and be filled with His love.

The love stories we write here on earth are only ever possible because of the greatest love story of them all.  Love is a wonderful gift given to us by the Lord.  The love between a man and wife through marriage is the human attempt to mirror the divine love of the Trinity.  Fully and freely giving of oneself to another as Christ fully gave of Himself to us.

We are called to share the love of the Lord.  With the love stories we take part in through marriage, family, friends, neighbors, and even strangers, we grow in love.  As we strengthen our own love stories, we find ourselves pulled deeper and deeper into the mystery of true love shown to us through Jesus Christ and made fully present to us in a reality far beyond our understanding in the Holy Eucharist: the greatest love story of them all.

Eucharist Image: http://www.family-prayer.org/sacrament-of-holy-eucharist.html

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Love Stories

  1. Lara Patangan August 13, 2014 at 3:32 pm Reply

    Beautiful! Love the quote by Archbishop Fulton Sheen.

  2. kaelinkedwards August 13, 2014 at 4:13 pm Reply

    Great post! I’m a new follower, and I look forward to reading your content.

    I’m a Christian blogger as well. You can check out some of my posts at http://www.KaelinEdwards.com

    God bless!

    • rosesnearrunningwaters August 13, 2014 at 6:19 pm Reply

      Thank you! And thanks for the follow :). I checked yours out & look forward to reading more of your posts as well! God Bless!

  3. SR August 14, 2014 at 5:52 am Reply

    Beautiful wedding! “The greatest love story of all is contained in a tiny white Host.” I love it!!! I think I will remember that in every Mass. Just when I thought it could not be anymore beautiful, it just became such! Thank you so much. God Bless, SR

  4. Feminine But Not Feminist August 14, 2014 at 3:06 pm Reply

    This post is beautiful! I love that quote as well, thank you for including it!

    I’m a new follower as well. I just found you from a comment you made on Catholicism Pure And Simple. Looking forward to reading more!

    • rosesnearrunningwaters August 14, 2014 at 3:23 pm Reply

      Thank you! I look forward to reading your posts as well!
      God Bless!

      • Feminine But Not Feminist August 14, 2014 at 4:01 pm

        Thank you! 🙂 There’s not much to read on mine yet, as it’s only been up for a few days. I’m going to put up a post about how we should be wearing veils to Mass, and why it stopped being a regular practice (for the most part) soon, that I think you might like. I will be adding a blogroll to it soon also, and will include yours for sure! God bless you as well! 🙂

  5. SR August 15, 2014 at 4:28 pm Reply

    Rose,

    I wanted to stop by and tell you I went to the most precious Mass I have ever been to today, because of what you shared with us, here. I would like to do a post on it, referring back to this post of course if you do not mind? I wanted to ask you first though. All I could think about was this post and all I could see was the humility of Jesus coming to us in Mass in the “tiny white host.” It truly changed Mass for me and I have never felt as much love for Jesus as I did today, and I owe many thanks to you for it. If you mind me using this post let me know, and there will be no hard feelings. Thank you so much dear sister in Christ. What this did for me, there are not enough words. God Bless, SR

    • rosesnearrunningwaters August 15, 2014 at 6:22 pm Reply

      Oh SR I do not mind at all! The whole purpose of this blog is to give glory to God and share His wonders. It is always my prayer that everything I write comes from a Him and will inspire and lift up others. I am so blessed that you were able to hear Him through this post and you are absolutely most welcome to share it. Blessings to you as well, SR

Leave a Reply

