Our Lady of the Rosary

20141007102001041Today we celebrate the Memorial of Our Lady of the Rosary.  The Rosary is a most beautiful and powerful prayer.  As we pray through the words of Scripture and focus on the life of Our Savior, we are filled with peace and the love of Christ.  We grow closer and closer to Jesus through His Mother, who is indeed our mother as well.  Our devotion to His Blessed Mother does not take away from the glory of God.   But through her loving and faithful example, she has shown us how to love her Son, Jesus.

Our Lady of the Rosary, lead us to your Son, our Savior. We pray that through the devotion of the Rosary we might draw closer to the Lord and draw others to Him.  Pray for us that we might reflect His light to all those around us.  We pray that we may learn to love Him with all our hearts and trust in Him completely, as you did.  In the name of your Son, Jesus Christ.  Amen.

“God, Who made the sun, also made the moon. The moon does not take away from the brilliance of the sun. The moon would be only a burnt-out cinder floating in the immensity of space were it not for the sun. All its light is reflected from the sun. The Blessed Mother reflects her Divine Son; without Him, she is nothing. With Him, she is the Mother of Men. On dark nights we are grateful for the moon; when we see it shining, we know there must be a sun. So in this dark night of the world when men turn their backs on Him Who is the Light of the World, we look to Mary to guide their feet while we await the sunrise.”  – Venerable Archbishop Fulton Sheen

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Our Lady of the Rosary

  1. monicakay October 7, 2014 at 11:05 pm Reply

    I love Fulton Sheen. I have heard this quote. Just as the moon is a reflection of the son. Mary’s soul magnifies The Lord.

    “Beautiful things happen in the dark. When the sun goes to sleep. When the stars give light kisses, when the moon gives spotlight. Life stays beautiful even when you are covered in darkness”

  2. […] Source: Our Lady of the Rosary […]

  3. reinkat October 9, 2014 at 2:11 am Reply

    I enjoyed this post, too. Both prayers were beautiful and meaningful: both Bishop Sheen’s and your own.

    • rosesnearrunningwaters October 9, 2014 at 10:19 am Reply

      Thank you! I just love the image of Mary as the moon…it just seems so peaceful and beautiful. God Bless!

  4. SR October 15, 2014 at 6:23 pm Reply

    What a beautiful post Rose. I love what Bishop Sheen said. In saying that, what book are you getting his quotes from? I have never read one which shared his writings, but through you, I am really wanting to. Can you please lead me to a book about him, such one that gives the quotes which you write?

    I love your heart and soul Rose. You always bring peace to mine! God Bless, SR

    • rosesnearrunningwaters October 16, 2014 at 5:58 pm Reply

      Thank you SR! I have to be honest…I don’t spend nearly as much time reading as I would like to. These are actually quotes I have heard in the past. I like to keep a little collection of sorts of various quotes I come across that speak to me. I will be on the lookout for a book and will definitely let you know what I find!

  5. Creating Space, LLC. October 21, 2014 at 6:13 pm Reply

    Just came back from my second Marian Conference, Totally Yours and it was amazing. Thanks for your post.

  6. […] we celebrate the feast day of Our Lady of the Rosary.  Last year on this feast day I shared some beautiful words by Venerable Archbishop Fulton Sheen on Our Lady.   Today I wanted to share some beautiful words from Saint John Paul II from his 2002 Apostolic […]

Leave a Reply

