Reality Check

$RAKDJEV

Do you ever find yourself getting your hopes up about something only to quickly suppress them with a “reality check?”  You think for a minute that what you have wanted is just about to come true!  Hopes are high and you are filled with joy and certainty that everything will work out perfectly.  And then the little thoughts creep in…

“well it’s not realistic to expect that to happen immediately…”

“Better not get my hopes up, realistically we couldn’t afford it anyway…”

“Just because I want it to happen, realistically there is a lot standing in the way and chances are pretty slim…”

We dash our own hopes with our perceived notions of reality.  We have an idea in our minds of how things “realistically” happen in this world.  And more often than not, that idea is filled with negativity.  Why is that?

We can tell ourselves it is because we are being realistic.  Because we are thinking logically.  Because we are analyzing the situation from various aspects.  Because we are simply preparing ourselves for what is most likely to happen. But what it really boils down to is this: a lack of trust.

Do we truly believe that our wildest hopes and dreams are too far-fetched for God?  Do we seriously think that for one second we know what “reality” is better than our Father? I’m not talking about tempting God with outlandish requests to see if He really will answer them.  I am talking about sincere hopes and prayers.

Like praying for a friend to be cured.

Praying for a new career opportunity to allow you to spend more time with family.

Or, in my case, even praying for a baby.

When we ask for these things, why do we feel the need to stack the odds against ourselves?  Do we feel as though our requests are too big, too difficult for God?

Truly I tell you, if you say to this mountain, ‘Be taken up and thrown into the sea,’ and if you do not doubt in your heart, but believe that what you say will come to pass, it will be done for you.”  Mark 11:23

God knows what is in our hearts.  When deep in my heart I know my soul is pleading and praying for a baby, do I really think God is fooled by me listing all the reasons it won’t happen?  The only one I am fooling is myself.  Realistically the only thing I know for certain is that God has it under control.

Our God is loving, kind, merciful, forgiving.  Much more so than any of us ever could be.  When we pray and are open to His will in our lives, we need to have full faith that He hears our prayers. Not only that, but He answers them.  We may not know how or when, but He does.  And if the answer doesn’t come as quickly or in the exact way we wanted, we do not need to worry or feel discouraged.  Instead, we remain joyful and filled with the hope and love of Christ.  Because anything He has planned is far greater than what we could dream up for ourselves.

So while we wait for an answer to our prayers, forget about the logic.  Give yourself a reality check.  Not the kind our world tells us we need.  Not analyzing finances and listing all the reasons why it won’t happen.  But check yourself into the only true reality.  The reality that God loves you.  Remain constantly filled with hope and joy and the knowledge that God is answering your prayer!  And the answer is better than we ever could have expected.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Reality Check

  1. expectantlylistening October 21, 2014 at 4:24 pm Reply

    Oh yes, I need this today. I’m about to step into something a little scary but very exciting, and it’s tempting to not do it or to doubt, or to press on in my strength alone thinking that if I work hard enough (or try to control it enough) it will be fine. Really, I need only commit these two plans to the Lord and all will be well. It most likely won’t be quite what I’m imagining just now, but it will be well, or probably even better than well! Thank you!

    • rosesnearrunningwaters October 21, 2014 at 4:48 pm Reply

      I’m glad it was what you needed today 🙂
      And it will most definitely be better, it always is when He’s in charge! God Bless!

  2. SR October 21, 2014 at 5:27 pm Reply

    Beautiful Rose. I always think, “God and my logic, do not a match make.” How can our logic even compare to His awesomeness? How can our logic even compare to His greatness? It cannot. We need to see God as an ocean and our logic as a puddle of water standing when it rains, that will soon disappear when the sun comes out.

    You are so right, with all of this. I wonder how many miracles our logic talks us out of, because we do not trust God? Good thought to ponder. Well done, and always remember my daughter who had seven miscarriages then had twins. A little boy and a little girl. When God gave her those babies He gave her one of each and her family was complete. That is our God of miracles! Great post, love you, and God Bless, SR

    • rosesnearrunningwaters October 21, 2014 at 5:44 pm Reply

      Thank you SR! I love the image of God as the ocean and me as a little puddle 🙂
      And I love hearing stories like your daughter’s. It’s slways good to be reminded of all the wonderful miracles!

  3. reinkat October 22, 2014 at 2:14 am Reply

    Rose, what a beautiful post. You have such wisdom. Reality checks are nothing more than a fear of disappointment, a fear of trusting fully no matter what the answer is to prayers. Our culture tells us to have more faith in our intellect than in our hearts. I pray for you to be given a child when the time is right.
    I heard tonight that my son and his wife had a miscarriage a week ago. I am grieving over the loss of this baby, my first grandbaby. I am heartened by your post, and by SR’s response telling of the news of her daughter’s twins.

    I love this, and will meditate on it and savor your words: “But check yourself into the only true reality. The reality that God loves you. Remain constantly filled with hope and joy and the knowledge that God is answering your prayer! And the answer is better than we ever could have expected.”

    • rosesnearrunningwaters October 22, 2014 at 1:22 pm Reply

      Thank you Reinkat. I am so sorry to hear about your grandbaby. Know that your family will be in my prayers. God Bless

  4. Reality Check | Christians Anonymous October 22, 2014 at 4:02 pm Reply

    […] Source: Reality Check […]

  5. tamara October 22, 2014 at 7:54 pm Reply

    I really needed to hear/read that! It is so nice to know I am not alone in the realm of logic and reality. It’s just that sometimes I get tired of the waiting … but then hopefully while I am in the waiting room He’ll show me why indeed I waited 🙂 Thank-you for saying what a lot of us are going through silently.
    peace, Tamara

    • rosesnearrunningwaters October 22, 2014 at 8:18 pm Reply

      Thank you! I think so many of us feel like we are alone in our thoughts and experiences. It’s always nice to know we are all in it together! God Bless 🙂

  6. liltinglilies October 23, 2014 at 11:55 am Reply

    I so needed to hear this. It’s funny how even when looking at my life in retrospect, I see God’s hand guiding me. But when looking ahead it’s so hard to trust Him. Even with hard evidence that he answers prayers! They say the two things required for answered prayers is simply that you ask for is in accordance with His will, and that you have faith He will answer you. It’s that second one that always gives me the most trouble. We Catholics get called things like naive when we utter things like “God will provide.” I think that’s it, we hear all these negative things from people around us, yanking us back down to earth. Thanks for your insights! God bless!

    • rosesnearrunningwaters October 23, 2014 at 12:01 pm Reply

      Very true. We hear so many negative things around us it’s hard to keep them from creeping inside sometimes. Thanks for reading and for the comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

