Peace in the New Year

bay-381241_640New Year’s Eve.  Time for another resolution to carry into 2015.

Last year I chose to focus on one word for a New Year’s Resolution.  Believe.

Throughout the year I reminded myself over and over again to believe.  Not just in the existence of God but in His promises, His love, His mercy, His grace, His perfect plan.  To fully believe in all that we have been given through Him and to let that belief overcome any doubts or fears.  It truly helped me throughout the year and is something I will continue to meditate on in the coming years.

For 2015, I again decided to choose one word to focus on throughout the coming year.

Peace.

In the coming year I resolve to allow the peace of Christ to work within my soul.  To empty myself of anxieties, troubles, fears, and be filled with His peace, true peace.  To let that peace extend from me to touch my family and friends and all those around me.  This year I pray that the peace of the Lord will be within me and work through me so that others may see and know His peace.

Peace is not some abstract impossibility.  The peace of Christ is very real and very possible.  I pray that in the coming year people around the world will open up their hearts and souls to the wondrous peace of Christ.  Happy New Year!

“Overcoming evil with weapons of love becomes the way in which each person can contribute to the peace of all. Christians and believers of different religions are called to walk this path, together with those who accept the universal moral law.

Dear brothers and sisters, promoting peace in the world is our common mission!

May the Virgin Mary help us to fulfill the words of the Lord: ‘Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God’ (Mt 5: 9).

Happy New Year to everyone! Praised be Jesus Christ!”

(Homily of Saint John Paul II on the 38th World Day of Peace
Saturday, 1 January 2005)

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Peace in the New Year

  1. Brandy December 31, 2014 at 8:27 pm Reply

    I like the idea of just one word. I did something similar this year.

    • rosesnearrunningwaters January 2, 2015 at 10:12 am Reply

      I just read about your resolution to focus on “grace” I like that! I like doing the one word because you never know what the year may bring and some resolutions I’ve made in the past are too complex or get pushed aside due to changes in circumstance beyond my control…but meditating on one word is easy enough to keep up with 🙂 Happy New Year!

  2. 9jaime January 2, 2015 at 12:12 pm Reply

    I love your word for the year. 🙂 I agree about resolutions usually being too complicated or unrealistic to actually do. The one word thing is perfect. May God bless you with true peace in 2015!

  3. rosesnearrunningwaters January 5, 2015 at 4:20 pm Reply

    Thank you! God Bless you and your family in 2015 as well 🙂

  4. Theresa @ HappyAlmostHomemaker January 6, 2015 at 5:37 pm Reply

    I always love reading your wonderful meditations. I’ve seen the one-word thing for years, but for the first time, you’ve actually got me considering it! I think I’m usually so hesitant about resolutions, but maybe if the right word finds me. 🙂 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

