Stop and Listen

Giovanni_Gerolamo_Savoldo_005Yesterday at Mass we heard the story of the Transfiguration of Jesus.  It is a truly wondrous and awe-inspiring event.  The disciples saw Jesus in all His divine glory shining brilliantly before their eyes.  They saw Him talking with two of the most respected and holiest men, Moses and Elijah.  How amazing to be witness to the Lord in such a holy and divine moment!

In the midst of this, Peter wanted to help out.  He sees Jesus standing there with Elijah and Moses and offers to make tents for the three. I wonder what motivated Peter to make such an offer?  Perhaps he was simply responding to what he saw as a fundamental need in front of him.  Or maybe he thought by building tents for them to rest in, Moses and Elijah would stay longer.

Obviously I do not know what Peter was thinking in that moment.  But if I try to imagine myself in that position I think I know what my reasoning would be.  And I can’t help but wonder if Peter’s was the same…What if he was feeling overwhelmed by the encounter and felt the need to do something?

When I feel myself overwhelmed by a situation, often my first response is, what can i do?  In my feeble human attempts to make sense of the things in my life that may fill me with emotions, I feel the need to do something.  To make myself useful.  Sometimes this urge is good and motivates me to take action where needed.  But many times, my desire to act pushes aside the greater need to stop, take in the moment, and listen for God’s voice to be my guide.

As we have been trying to have a family, there have been many when I feel overwhelmed with emotions.  When I feel myself getting upset, confused, or discouraged, often my first thought is, “I need to do something.”  But the fact is that many times, there is simply nothing I can do.

My frustration at not knowing what to do next only overwhelms me even more.  My mind begins to race and I feel as though the only way I can find peace in the situation is to find the next action to take.  I fool myself into thinking that if I am not actively doing something, I am only prolonging the situation or even moving backwards.

While Peter was offering his suggestion to make tents for Jesus, Moses and Elijah, a cloud came over them.  Suddenly from the cloud came the voice of God, “This is my beloved Son. Listen to him.”  Sometimes in the midst of life’s most overwhelming moments, rather than rush into action, we simply need to stop and listen to the voice of God.

I may not be witness to the glory of Our Lord transfigured before my eyes, but I know I am surrounded by His glory.  The wonders of His creation, the countless blessings He has bestowed on us, the very gift of Himself on the cross for our sins and the miraculous gift of Himself to us each and every Mass in the Eucharist.  Yes the glory of the Lord is not hard to find if I simply take a minute to stop and open my eyes.

The voice of God may not come to me from a cloud in the sky, but I still can hear Him.  Just as He told Peter, James, and John on the mountain, I can hear Him telling me that Jesus, who came and died for our sins and rose again to bring us all new life, He truly is the beloved Son of God!  And just as the disciples were instructed to listen to Him, I am called to do the same.

What does He tell me?  He says not to worry (Mt. 6:34).  Do not be afraid! (Mk. 6:50) He tells me to ask God for the things I need and to trust that He will provide  (Mt. 7:7-11).  He tells me just how much God loves each one of us (Jn. 3:16).  He tells me to pray to Him as a Father (Lk. 11:1-4).  He tells me that He is always with me (Mt. 28:20).

Knowing all that He has told us and seeing His glory surrounding me, I feel at peace. I do not need to find the solution on my own or rush into action simply for the sake of doing something.  I need only to keep focused on Christ, to pray, and to listen to Him as He guides me.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Stop and Listen

  1. 9jaime March 2, 2015 at 2:28 pm Reply

    I’m a “do-er” also. Beautiful post. You are in my prayers!

    • rosesnearrunningwaters March 2, 2015 at 2:31 pm Reply

      Thank you! Letting go of my own plans and need to “do something” and just letting God take control seems to be an almost constant struggle for me but I keep on trying! 🙂

  2. reinkat March 3, 2015 at 11:42 am Reply

    Lots of wisdom here. I am the same way, and don’t always have the insight to recognize what I am doing. Sometimes not only actively busy (trying to take control of a situation) but also, when wanting to pray, feeling like I have no words, and blathering to fill some in. Sometimes it is enough to simply rest in the presence of God, and let Him take care of it.

    • rosesnearrunningwaters March 3, 2015 at 11:46 am Reply

      Great point! It’s so important to remember that sometimes we just need to sit still and just listen and be there with God. He knows what’s in our hearts 🙂

  3. ecceamor March 18, 2015 at 12:37 pm Reply

    I have the same problem! 🙂 Letting go, this is a hard thing to bring about. That attitude requires patience, hope and trust in God. I pray for this, constantly. Through prayer and sacraments, the Lord gives to us the fullness of the means to grow in these precious virtues! Blessings, from France.
    +Nathalie, ocv.

    • rosesnearrunningwaters March 18, 2015 at 1:02 pm Reply

      Thank you for your kind comment! It is hard to let go and just be patient! Thank goodness the Lord is patient with us as we figure it out! God Bless!

  4. […] pregnancy, every month there is ample room for disappointment.  There are tears and questions and worries and doubts.  I never expected it would be so hard to do something […]

  5. Moments of Glory | roses near running waters February 19, 2016 at 12:23 pm Reply

    […] Sunday in Mass we will hear Luke’s gospel account of the Transfiguration of Jesus.    Peter, James, and John go up on the mountain with Jesus to pray.  They are overcome with […]

Leave a Reply

