Baby Update – 22 Weeks

baby boyI haven’t been able to write much lately but I wanted to post a brief update since I know many of you have prayed for us as we waited for a baby and I am so thankful for all your continued prayers as we await our miracle baby’s arrival!

I am just about 22 weeks along.  Our mid-pregnancy ultrasound went great and was amazing to see!  My ultrasound was just shy of 19 weeks into my pregnancy and I stared at the screen in awe as the ultrasound technician pointed out the baby’s features.  I saw little baby moving around and even yawning!  They were able to look at the brain, inside the heart, see all the internal organs, and see each little bone in baby’s spine.  It was truly incredible.  It made me sad to realize that even with some of the pro-life “successes” that limit abortions after 20 weeks, my little one was there moving around and everything and could still be seen as some to be “not a life.”

My husband and I decided we wanted to learn if we were having a boy or girl and now we know we are having a baby boy!  (There was no mistaking the ultrasound!  It’s amazing how far technology has come!)  I know everyone is different and some like the surprise of waiting until the baby is born.  For me personally, there has been something special about knowing that it is a little boy.  We already decided on a name and being able to call my baby by name and talk to him using his name is so special!  It reminds me of the verse “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you” (Jeremiah 1:5).  I may not have known my baby before he was even formed in my womb in the same way our Father knows us.  But I certainly knew him in my heart.  I knew he was missing from our lives before I know he would even exist.  And now that I know baby is a boy and know his name, I feel like I know him even more!

Aside from finding out we are having a boy, the doctor said everything looked great and the ultrasound was as perfect as they come.  The technician printed out several ultrasound images for us.  I keep them in my nightstand so that every morning when I reach in to get my glasses for the day, I see little baby.  I feel so blessed and still can hardly believe it sometimes! The doctor also let me record our baby’s heartbeat.  I have it on my phone and play it for myself sometimes just to remind myself this isn’t all a dream!

I have been feeling little baby boy moving more and more over the past few weeks.  The movements are a little too light for my husband to feel yet but his kicks are getting stronger by the day so I know he will be able to feel his son moving around very soon!

I want to thank you all again for your prayers.  I know this was not a typical post for me but I know the power of prayer and am so thankful for all of yours and wanted you to know that everything is going smoothly and just how awesome our God is.

God Bless!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “Baby Update – 22 Weeks

  1. reinkat June 27, 2016 at 1:50 pm Reply

    Roses, your email made me very happy, and brought back many memories–from not all that long ago. My first and only grandbaby is one month and two days old today. What a miracle he is! I still have his ultrasound photos on my fridge.
    I thank God for the joy that is yours with the coming of your little son.

    • rosesnearrunningwaters June 27, 2016 at 3:21 pm Reply

      Oh thank you Reinkat! I’m so glad my post made you smile 🙂 And congratulations on your grandbaby! That is so wonderful!

  2. nancyehead June 27, 2016 at 10:22 pm Reply

    So happy for you. God made this unique boy just for his unique parents. He is the creator craftsman. Blessings to you and yours!

  3. Imelda June 28, 2016 at 5:22 pm Reply

    Congratulations! My husband and I also did not shy away from knowing the gender of our baby early on. It was nice knowing whether our child was a girl or a boy, giving him a name, and communicating to him as such. 🙂 Happy and blessed pregnancy to you.

    • rosesnearrunningwaters June 28, 2016 at 6:52 pm Reply

      Thank you so much! Yes I am loving being able to talk to him and use his name 🙂 God bless!

  4. monicakay June 30, 2016 at 11:31 am Reply

    Wow! Congratulations! What is his name?

    • rosesnearrunningwaters July 7, 2016 at 6:09 pm Reply

      David 🙂

      • monicakay July 7, 2016 at 6:55 pm

        Omgosh!! I wanted to name my son David too! You beat me to it. Love that name!

      • rosesnearrunningwaters July 7, 2016 at 8:18 pm

        Awwww!!!! That’s ok there’s plenty of room for more Davids 🙂 I love the name too plus it’s my father’s name so he will be named after his grandpa 🙂

    • rosesnearrunningwaters July 7, 2016 at 6:13 pm Reply

      And thank you, too, by the way 🙂 God Bless!

  5. Elizabeth July 7, 2016 at 12:21 am Reply

    I enjoyed reading this SO much, Cheryl!!! I doubt younwill ever know how much your story blesses your readers who have followed your story of infertility. I am sure you are giving hope to MANY, plus showing people how to walk in TRUST. God bless you for that!

    I am strugglng a bit with the blog. It is so hard to write and then not get caught up in “stats” — or lack therof. Please pray that my eye is on the ONE I am writing for, not on the numbers of readers I have! (Even my own daughters seldom read the blog!)

    My prayers are with you and your wee one! Please keep us posted!

    God bless you!

    Betty

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  6. Elizabeth July 7, 2016 at 12:24 am Reply

    Yikes, I forgot I was commenting and not writing an email. Sorry avout all the stuff about my own blog!

    • rosesnearrunningwaters July 7, 2016 at 6:12 pm Reply

      No worries Betty :). I know what you mean. I have struggled with that too which honestly is part of why my posts are sometimes infrequent and other times more regular. I found that if I forced myself to post so much a week I started doing it more for the ‘stars’ and less because I was inspired to write something. So now I pretty much only write when I really feel inspired to which doesn’t make for the most regular posts and I know isn’t the best practice for attracting readers but it seems to help me stay focused on why I’m doing it. You’ll figure out what works best for you I am sure 🙂 Blessings to you friend!

  7. SR July 9, 2016 at 5:06 pm Reply

    Okay, I am going to tell you like I told Reinkat, “I just want to hold him and squeeze him.” So when are the both of you coming to Texas so I can???? 🙂 I am so happy for you and your hubby Rose. Most of all I am so happy for that BABY, because he has I know, such wonderful parents. Love to all THREE of YOU! God Bless, SR

    • rosesnearrunningwaters July 12, 2016 at 10:05 am Reply

      Aw thank you so much SR! You are so sweet! I can’t wait either! 🙂 God Bless!

  8. dorcassma590 September 2, 2016 at 2:01 pm Reply

    This is just an awesome testimony. It gives hope to those who had been long waiting for God’s answers. I am encouraged by your faith for the fact that you did. Not give up on prayer. Congratulations !!!!!

    • rosesnearrunningwaters September 2, 2016 at 4:18 pm Reply

      Thank you so much! God is so good it is just sometimes hard to wait on His plans. I feel so very blessed and cannot wait to hold our baby boy! Thank you again & God bless!

Leave a Reply

