Seeking to Console

14492355_10104705101121664_5578315947801954111_n“Lord, make me an instrument of Thy peace;
 Where there is hatred, let me sow love;
 Where there is injury, pardon;
 Where there is error, the truth;
 Where there is doubt, the faith;
 Where there is despair, hope;
 Where there is darkness, light;
 And where there is sadness, joy.

 O Divine Master,
 Grant that I may not so much seek
 To be consoled, as to console;
 To be understood, as to understand;
 To be loved as to love.

 For it is in giving that we receive;
 It is in pardoning that we are pardoned;
 And it is in dying that we are born to eternal life. Amen.”

Today is the feast day of St. Francis of Assissi. This prayer, attributed to him, is very well known. It is recited often, printed on cards, and is the basis for hymns. In fact, we recently sung this beautiful prayer during Mass.  While I’ve been familiar with the prayer for a long time, the part that has stuck out to me most recently is that second paragraph:

 O Divine Master,
Grant that I may not so much seek
To be consoled, as to console;
To be understood, as to understand;
To be loved as to love.

We all face difficulties in life. Whether in our marriages, our careers, struggling with illness, financial troubles, infertility, death of a loved one, you name it.  Not one of us walks through life without being touched by some sort of trial, big or small.  And sometimes these troubles seem to take control of our lives.  In those times when all our focus is on the troubles we face, we tend to expect a certain reaction from those around us.

We want the people around us to be better at consoling us, to understand us more, to show us love in a different way. We get frustrated when they don’t have the right words to say. Or when no matter how hard they try, they just can’t understand what we are dealing with.  And when we don’t find ourselves consoled “properly” by those around us, it can lead us to feel more upset.

The second paragraph in the St. Francis prayer seems to me to be a cry for help in just these moments. In the times when we think to ourselves “no one understand what I am dealing with,” this prayer asks God to help us realize that, even if we ourselves don’t feel understood, we can still seek to understand the pain of those around us.  If we do not feel consoled by the words of others, rather than letting it upset us more, we can pray for the grace to see others in pain and find the words to console them.   It is a prayer that takes our attention away from our own struggles and instead redirects the focus to those around us who are in need.

On the feast day of St. Francis today, I pray that we might all strive to be a brighter light in the lives around us. To bring peace, love, joy, and hope to those who need it most.  And that when we find ourselves struggling, we may have the strength to turn our focus to others who are also in need and to find a way to help console them, understand them, and love them, even in the midst of our own struggles.

~~~~Baby Update~~~~

Just to update all of you who have so kindly kept us in prayer throughout our journey of infertility and our miraculous pregnancy, everything is going very well!  I am 36 weeks in my pregnancy this week and while I have loved being pregnant and feeling his little kicks and flips, we are so excited to meet him and hold him in our arms in a few weeks.  Thank you again for all your prayers!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Seeking to Console

  1. SR October 4, 2016 at 7:20 pm Reply

    How this post spoke to my heart, Rose. I have found myself guilty of so many of the things you mentioned.

    I do like consolation in my times of suffering, and there have been times in my life I have received none or not “proper consolation” according to my standards. There have been moments that has made me very angry/upset.

    Thank you for writing this and explaining to us how to handle these emotions. I will probably come back to this again and again.

    As far as “miracle baby!” I cannot believe you are at 36 weeks!!!!! Won’t be long now, will it??? I cannot wait, and SOMEBODY BETTER BLOG IT AS SOON AS THEY CAN!!!!! 🙂 Love to you all and I think I am excited as you are. God Bless, SR

    • rosesnearrunningwaters October 4, 2016 at 7:46 pm Reply

      Thank you SR! I am glad my words touched your heart. And I am very thankful for your prayers! I cannot believe I’m 36 weeks either! It has flown by! I will certainly be sure to update when little one arrives just as soon as is reasonable! Lol!

      • SR October 4, 2016 at 7:47 pm

        “Reasonable” being when??? 🙂

  2. SR October 23, 2016 at 5:39 pm Reply

    Okay I have waited for “REASONABLE!” DO WE HAVE A BABY YET???? 🙂 LOVE YA AND GOD BLESS, SR

Leave a Reply

