Bring Back God, Bring Back Love

Everyone can agree that America has far too many mass shootings. Both sides can agree that you shouldn’t have to worry about a mass shooter at your kids school or in a movie theater or while shopping. So why is it still happening?

It has to stop.

If you are a law abiding citizen who wants a gun for self defense, fine. But why on earth is it problematic to increase background checks or make dangerous semiautomatic weapons available to the public? There’s a middle ground here. Common sense gun control measures can help keep guns away from those inclined to do harm without taking away rights. It won’t solve it completely, but it can help.

Mental health certainly plays a part and better, affordable, accessible care is needed.

But do you know what we need more than those things even? We need spiritual help. We need a return to God, to morals, to the 10 commandments. To teaching kids from the youngest age how to be nice and treat others. To refrain from hateful speech ourselves and to call out politicians and leaders when they use hateful rhetoric that only fuels violence. To put God back in our lives and not just in our life at home or in church but in our schools and public life too.

God is love. People want to remove God from the public for fear of offending someone. But love cannot exist without God. And only love can drive out the hate that causes these horrific acts.

So, yes, urge your politicians to work together and fight for common sense gun control and greater access to mental healthcare.

But while we wait for the politicians to argue about it all, we can all work to spread God’s love. To speak out against hate. To help those in need. To follow God’s law.

And we can all pray. We often mention prayer as a sort of last resort or as something nice to do but not as a “real” action. Prayer is incredibly powerful. And a nation of people turning their hearts to the Lord and praying for peace would be very powerful indeed.


It’s been 2 years since my last post and I didn’t even know if I should bother starting writing again, or if I needed to start a new site, or what I would even write about. But as a Catholic, American, woman, there is so much happening right now that I really would love to write about. I can’t promise I will write every week, or that I will always be on topic, and I don’t even know if I will have any readers! But for anyone who stumbles across this, thank you for reading and I will do my best! God Bless!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Bring Back God, Bring Back Love

  1. reinkat August 9, 2019 at 1:13 am Reply

    I, for one, am glad to see you post again. I always enjoyed reading your thoughts and words. Like you, I haven’t really posted much of anything for over a year at least. Sometimes it is hard to re-find the energy, isn’t it. Thanks for a thoughtful post, which I totally agree with.

    • Cheryl August 12, 2019 at 8:36 pm Reply

      Thank you Reinkat! It is hard to get back into it! I pray I find the time and energy to keep up with it better! God Bless

Leave a comment