The Little Flower’s Little Way

litany17c“Prayer is, for me, an outburst from the heart; it is a simple glance darted upwards to Heaven; it is a cry of gratitude and of love in the midst of trial as in the midst of joy! In a word, it is something exalted, supernatural, which dilates the soul and unites it to God.”  – St. Therese of Lisieux, The Little Flower (Story of a Soul, Chapter X)

October 1st is the Feast Day of St. Therese of Lisieux.   Her “little way” inspires me to find the little things in my own life that can be used to grow closer to God.  Whether it be little actions I can take, little words I can speak, little prayers I can offer, little songs I may sing, or the little things that surround us as evidence of God’s love for us.  I pray that I might find my own little way to Christ and to help others along the way.

Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not stop them; for it is to such as these that the kingdom of heaven belongs.”   Matthew 19:14

 

 

To learn more about St. Therese, visit the Society of the Little Flower.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “The Little Flower’s Little Way

  1. Cariña de María September 30, 2014 at 4:45 pm Reply

    Beautiful! Thank you…

  2. […] Source: The Little Flower’s Little Way […]

  3. SR October 6, 2014 at 4:54 am Reply

    In the past year, I have tried to follow the example of this great Saint of ours, to have a more simple and childlike relationship with God. I have found, great peace comes along with that. As Mother Teresa always said, “It is about being faithful.” I am finding being faithful in simplicity, gains many gifts. Peace, for one. Great post and as usual you did a great job! God Bless, SR

    • rosesnearrunningwaters October 6, 2014 at 12:03 pm Reply

      Thanks SR! I have been trying to follow her example more as well. I think St. Therese has a special appeal to me since her faith is so incredibly deep and profound but is also simplified and just so pure!

Leave a comment