Fortnight for Freedom: Witness to Marriage

Marriage.Fortnight for Freedom is a 14 day period leading up to the 4th of July where we take time to bring awareness to and pray for our religious freedoms.  It is a time to give thanks for the freedom we have, to pray for those who are persecuted for faith, and to pray that our own country will honor the religious freedoms that we hold so dear.  My parish takes part in this Fortnight for Freedom with a prayer service each year that incorporates speakers, song, and prayers for our religious liberties.  This is my first year participating and I was asked to speak on marriage.  I wanted to share with you my witness to marriage that I will be presenting this coming weekend:

The theme of this year’s Fortnight for Freedom is to “Bear Witness.”  I wanted to share today my own witness to marriage, what marriage means to me, and why it matters to begin with.

This July will be 4 years since my husband and I were married. When we were preparing to get married, plenty of people had advice on how to have a happy, successful marriage. Communication, compromise, making time for each other, and other things like that. Of course those things are great, but it’s something more that makes a marriage strong. I may only be married four years, but I look to the example of my husband’s parents who have been married 29 years, to my own parents who are celebrating their 30th anniversary in November, and to my grandparents who have been married over 60 years and I see one thing in common. They all had God at the center. It is God’s presence that makes a true marriage work.

Without God, there is no love.  God is love! We think we know what love is.  But one look at the cross reminds us that there is a love so deep we cannot begin to grasp it.  A love that created life. That sacrificed itself for us, even when we stubbornly refuse it.  The love of Christ is never-ending. Knowing that such a love exists, even while not fully understanding the depth of it, opens our eyes to the reality that we have so much to learn about love. We need Christ to show us how to love.  We need Him beside us in all aspects of life, in all our relationships, and definitely in our marriages.

Marriage is a gift from God. It is the union of one man and one woman as husband and wife. Marriage is more than the “next step” in a relationship. To me, marriage is a calling from God to live as husband and wife being open to whatever God has in store for us. It is not something to be defined or changed by us. It is a sacred and beautiful sacrament given to us by God.  Marriage is not just about the individual. It is about the unbreakable union between man and wife.  And for a marriage to remain strong in love, peace, and joy despite what life throws our way, that union must include Jesus.   With God at the center of our marriages, we may continue to grow in love for each other and for Him.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Fortnight for Freedom: Witness to Marriage

  1. […] Source: Fortnight for Freedom: Witness to Marriage […]

  2. SR June 27, 2015 at 10:50 pm Reply

    You go girl with your bad self!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This was excellent!!!! Unless God is in the “center” of marriage and of everything in our lives, there can be no “love.” It is the witness of His love in us, that brings us to the point where we “can” love another and share our lives with them. You did a great job!!!!!!!! Thanks so much for sharing. Love you and God Bless, SR

    • rosesnearrunningwaters June 28, 2015 at 8:08 am Reply

      Thank you SR! Our Fortnight for Freedom event was yesterday and went really well despite the weather causing us to move it inside! It’s so encouraging to see so many who share our beliefs and will stand up for what is right. I was nervous but I’m so glad I was blessed to be able to share this and am so happy it was so well received. Thanks again my friend! Love & blessings to you!

  3. Heather July 12, 2015 at 12:10 am Reply

    I have never heard of fortnight freedom! Sounds like something I need to start partaking in with the way politics are going nowadays.
    Also your testimony is beautiful. I celebrate 3 years Aug. 4th and feel the same way. It is so great to hear of others who understand marriage in the way.

    • rosesnearrunningwaters July 12, 2015 at 7:46 am Reply

      Thanks so much for your kind comment! And congratulations on your upcoming anniversary :). God Bless!

Leave a comment